Educator Award

Educator Award

Recognizes individuals as outstanding educators who demonstrate excellence and exemplary commitment to mentoring and teaching the next generation of engineers, scientists, technologists, professionals, and pre-professionals, advancing the knowledge and skills of materials protection and performance in academic or non-academic settings.

Outstanding effectiveness of the educational experience is exhibited by educators who excite their students through exceptional and innovative teaching.

Nominations will be considered for early or mid-career educators.


Maximum 1 award per subcategory each year
Membership is required
Self-nomination is allowed
Letter of support required (max. 3)

Educator Award in honor of Herbert Uhlig

This award is given to an academic educator for commitment to educational excellence at the undergraduate or graduate level.

Educator Award in honor of Richard Drisko

This award is given to a non-academic educator for commitment to educational excellence in the training classroom, through workshops/short courses, or outside of a formal educational setting by providing mentoring or on-the-job training including the transfer of skills and knowledge to pre-professionals.

Eligibility criteria applicable for all awards categories:


  • Individuals, organizations, and companies can be nominators - see each award category for specific restrictions.
  • Self-nomination is only allowed for specific awards and is identified on each award description page.


  • No posthumous nominations will be accepted.
  • The restriction applies to Individual Awards and Honors for Past Presidents and Chairs of the AMPP, AMPP Global Center, NACE, NACE Institute, or SSPC Boards of Directors, with the exception of work/service completed/performed after service on the Board is completed.
  • The restriction applies to Individual Awards and Honors for sitting members of both AMPP Boards, and the Awards Committee.
  • Past recipients are not eligible to receive the same or similar (from Legacy SSPC or NACE )award category again.
  • An individual is only eligible for a single award each calendar year. However, an individual may receive the Fellow Honor in addition to any other award in the same year.
  • Membership requirements vary. Please check the award description page for details.
  • Activity directly related to supporting the merger was recognized in 2022 and is not encouraged going forward.