Technical Achievement Award

NACE Technical Achievement Award

The Technical Achievement Award is given in recognition for technical achievement in corrosion engineering having significant impact on the practice of corrosion control, or on the enhancement of the profession of corrosion engineering. Recognized achievements can be in the areas of research, engineering, or education.

A maximum of five awards may be given in any year. Each recipient will receive an inscribed award.

2021 Recipient(s)

Brian Dale Chambers

Shell Global Solution US, Inc., Houston, Texas, USA

Recognized for Numerous findings in a career in laboratory work at Honeywell Corrosion Solutions and materials selection and research at Shell. Member and leader of several NACE committees including NACE MR0175 Maintenance Panel 2011-2013 and 2018-present. He holds a Ph.D. in Materials Science from the University of Virginia.

Y. Frank Cheng

University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Recognized for significant accomplishments in advancing fundamental understanding of pipeline corrosion under alternating current interference and developing techniques for effective evaluation, prevention, and monitoring of the problem.

Khlefa A. Esaklul

Occidental Oil and Gas Corporation, Houston, Texas, USA

Recognized for his contributions to the understanding of corrosion, hydrogen embrittlement and Sulfide Stress Cracking in oil and gas production, and commitment in the service and promotion of NACE International worldwide.

Mohammad Sadegh Parvizi

McDermott, London, UK

Recognized for his wide ranging contributions to the field of corrosion science and engineering in particular his highly influential work in relation to development and implementation of a holistic approach to corrosion management applicable to many industry sectors, impacting the practice of corrosion mitigation and enhancement of profession of corrosion engineering.

Yousef Khuraibut

Kuwait Oil Company, Ahmadi, Kuwait, Kuwait

Recognized for outstanding contributions to the internal corrosion field and Establishing the “Internal Corrosion Techniques and advancements” (TEG) for the GULF Region, translating NACE course books to Arabic, contributing to education of corrosion in Kuwait. He is currently working on quantum mechanics superposition corrosion.

Qiwei Wang

Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, East Province, Saudi Arabia

Recognized for advancing the understanding and control of corrosion and scale in high temperature gas wells and outstanding contributions to oilfield scale management. He has a leading role in scale mitigation activities for companywide operations and developed and improved chemical treatment programs for all company’s major assets.

Past Recipients

  • 2020
    Dr. Hisashi Amaya
    Dr. Sunder Ramachandran
    Dr. Torben Lund Skovhus
    Dr. Ulf Kivisakk
  • 2019
    Alyn Jenkins
    Baorong Hou
    Hejian Sun
    Hira Ahluwalia
    Lee Smith
  • 2018
    Thierry Cassagne, FNACE
    Sylvia Hall
    Perry Nice
    Paul Puckorius
    VS Raja, FNACE
  • 2017
     Andy Gysbers
    Sandra Hernandez
    Xiaogang Li
    Bruce Pint, FNACE
    Patrick Teevens
  • 2016
    Sankara Papavinasam, FNACE
    Minxu Lu
    Zahid Amjad
    Raymundo Case
    Daniel Powell
  • 2015
    Dr. Anthony Gerbino
    Jan Larsen
    Mohsen Achour
    Vilupanur Ravi
  • 2014
    Dr. Dharma Abayarathna
    Dr. Ali N. Moosavi
    Prof. Noam Eliaz
    Dr. Jorge J. Perdomo
    Dr. Gary E. Jenneman
  • 2013
    Dr. Thomas R. Jack
    Richard J. Kessler
    Teresa Perez
    Siamack A. Shirazi
    Dr. Malgorzata Ziomek-Moroz
  • 2012
    Professor Behzad Bavarian
    Dr. Dale R. McIntyre
  • 2011
    John Dabkowski
    Vince Hock
    Peter Mayer
    Ed Rybicki
  • 2010
    Avtandil Bairamov
    Alberto Sagüés
    Michel Bonis
    Sergei Shipilov
    John Martin
  • 2009
    Marc Edwards
    Michael W. Joosten
    Gabriel Ogundele
    Brian J. Saldanha
    Karol E. Szklarz
  • 2008
    J. Dimond
    M. Mitchell
  • 2007
    J. Broomfield
    B. Kermani
    L. Terrase
  • 2006
    B. Chang
    T. DeBold
    A. Naraghi
    C. Shargay
  • 2005
    S. Borenstein
    J. Crum
    W. Hartt
  • 2004
    M. Akashi
    G.R. Holcomb
    S.D. Kapusta
    R.W. Revie
  • 2003
    D.G. Hill
    S.N. Smith
    N. Sridhar
  • 2002
    J.E. Bennett
    R.J. Horvath
    R.M. Kain
    R.W. Ross
    K.L. Vasanth
  • 2001
    A. Goolsby
    C.C. Nathan
    A. Turnbull
    T.L. Yau
  • 2000
    J.P. Audouard
    W.W. Frenier
    B. Hopkinson
    S.A. Kennedy
    G.D. Smith