Willis Whitney Technical Achievement Award

Willis Whitney Technical Achievement Award

Recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions and merits that have received international recognition and impacted the global dissemination, advancement, and understanding of materials protection and performance-related phenomena and processes.

An individual may qualify who has made a significant contribution to the field through some form of education or work that leads to a better understanding of materials protection through corrosion control or protective coatings, this includes using scientific methods to explain processes and phenomena.

This award is the highest technical achievement award of the Association.

Upon receiving the Willis Whitney Technical Achievement Award, the awardee will be asked to present a lecture during AMPP’s Annual Conference + Expo.


1 award per year
Membership is not required
Self-nomination is not allowed

Eligibility criteria applicable for all awards categories:


  • Individuals, organizations, and companies can be nominators - see each award category for specific restrictions.
  • Self-nomination is only allowed for specific awards and is identified on each award description page.


  • No posthumous nominations will be accepted.
  • The restriction applies to Individual Awards and Honors for Past Presidents and Chairs of the AMPP, AMPP Global Center, NACE, NACE Institute, or SSPC Boards of Directors, with the exception of work/service completed/performed after service on the Board is completed.
  • The restriction applies to Individual Awards and Honors for sitting members of both AMPP Boards, and the Awards Committee.
  • Past recipients are not eligible to receive the same or similar (from Legacy SSPC or NACE )award category again.
  • An individual is only eligible for a single award each calendar year. However, an individual may receive the Fellow Honor in addition to any other award in the same year.
  • Membership requirements vary. Please check the award description page for details.
  • Activity directly related to supporting the merger was recognized in 2022 and is not encouraged going forward.