Early Career Excellence Award

Early Career Excellence Award

Recognizes individuals that worked in academia, research, industry, or government and had excellent contributions and exceptional promise in materials protection and performance.

The award acknowledges the creativity and innovation in developing or improving a method, process, apparatus, or equipment that facilitates the control of materials degradation or makes it less costly.

To be eligible, the applicant should have typically worked in the field for equal to or less than ten years in academia, research, government, or industry.


Maximum 2 awards per year
Membership is required
Self-nomination is allowed
Letter of support required (max. 3)

Eligibility criteria applicable for all awards categories:


  • Individuals, organizations, and companies can be nominators - see each award category for specific restrictions.
  • Self-nomination is only allowed for specific awards and is identified on each award description page.


  • No posthumous nominations will be accepted.
  • The restriction applies to Individual Awards and Honors for Past Presidents and Chairs of the AMPP, AMPP Global Center, NACE, NACE Institute, or SSPC Boards of Directors, with the exception of work/service completed/performed after service on the Board is completed.
  • The restriction applies to Individual Awards and Honors for sitting members of both AMPP Boards, and the Awards Committee.
  • Past recipients are not eligible to receive the same or similar (from Legacy SSPC or NACE )award category again.
  • An individual is only eligible for a single award each calendar year. However, an individual may receive the Fellow Honor in addition to any other award in the same year.
  • Membership requirements vary. Please check the award description page for details.
  • Activity directly related to supporting the merger was recognized in 2022 and is not encouraged going forward.