Elaine Bowman Distinguished Service Award

Elaine Bowman Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes notable and cumulative contributions for assigned or unassigned duties, responsibilities, or achievements in advancing the work of the Association.

Examples are impactful contributions in service to AMPP with chapters, standards, conference leadership or any other AMPP committee area of work or activity.

In the case of nominations, talks given, papers published, patents, or technical proficiency are not criteria for this award.


Maximum 12 awards per year
Membership is required
Self-nomination is not allowed

Eligibility criteria applicable for all awards categories:


  • Individuals, organizations, and companies can be nominators - see each award category for specific restrictions.
  • Self-nomination is only allowed for specific awards and is identified on each award description page.


  • No posthumous nominations will be accepted.
  • The restriction applies to Individual Awards and Honors for Past Presidents and Chairs of the AMPP, AMPP Global Center, NACE, NACE Institute, or SSPC Boards of Directors, with the exception of work/service completed/performed after service on the Board is completed.
  • The restriction applies to Individual Awards and Honors for sitting members of both AMPP Boards, and the Awards Committee.
  • Past recipients are not eligible to receive the same or similar (from Legacy SSPC or NACE )award category again.
  • An individual is only eligible for a single award each calendar year. However, an individual may receive the Fellow Honor in addition to any other award in the same year.
  • Membership requirements vary. Please check the award description page for details.
  • Activity directly related to supporting the merger was recognized in 2022 and is not encouraged going forward.